Swirly Snowflakes

When I was looking thru the Stampin’ Up new Holiday Catalog for the first time, I adored the Swirly Snowflakes Thinlet Dies! While playing in my craft room the other day I decided to make a card using them.

swir

I cut the gorgeous snowflakes out of Silver Foil and them remembered  I had the beautiful  SU Silver Satin Ribbon! I thought it would go perfectly with the Silver Foil. So I cut a few pieces and wrapped one around the middle of the card. Cut some angles on the other piece and placed that on top a little to the left side. Then I tied a ribbon and placed that one top. The Sateen Ribbon is now on clearance for $2.80! So grab it while you can!

Then I was trying to decide what sentiment I wanted. While I was looking through the Sentiments of my stamp sets. I saw the “Wishes for a Beautiful Season” stamp from the Nature Sings Stamp set. Since I thought this card was going to be drop dead gorgeous! I thought..hmmmm a beautiful sentiment for a beautiful card! Yep, that’s the one!

To give my Sentiment a little Dimension I thought I would use the Layering Oval Framelits because the sentiment fit perfectly in one of the Ovals. First I took some of the Soft Sky Cardstock I used for the card and cut out an oval frame for the sentiment using double sided adhesive.  I then covered it with White Glitter.  I love sparkle on Christmas Cards! lol  I stamped the sentiment on some Light Blue Vellum with Clear Embossing and emobssed It with Ranger White Embossing Powder.  I then cut it out with the Layering Oval Framelits glued it to the Glitter base I made and added the framed sentiment to the card right above the ribbon.

Here is a tip!! To make a glittery embellishment.   Cut out double sided adhesive just as you would regular cardstock. Remove one side of the adhesive, pour glitter on it..rub with your finger..and whooo la! You have a gorgeous glimmery embellishment and the glitter stays put! It doesn’t fall of at all! So Simple and Beautiful!

I decided I wanted just a little more pop. So, I took some Pearl Basic Jewels (that Amy Koenders gave me when I joined Stampin up. Thanks Amy!) and attached one in the center of the snowflakes and also added 3 to the right side of the ribbon.

I love to decorate the inside or outside of the envelope I send the card in. So I thought I would cut out the snowflake outline die that came with the set. I had some light blue glimmer paper I bought at Michael’s. (just because it was so pretty!) haha I adhered it to the envelope flap and used the die to cut it out. Boom! One gorgeous cut envelope in less than 4 minutes!

swirly snowflakes 2-2

Here are the Stampin’ Up products I used to create this card.
Product List:

Other Items Used:

  • Light Blue Vellum
  • Ranger White Embossing Powder
  • Double Sided Adhesive

I entered this card in the following Challenges:

Update 10/2 – My card was the Winner this week at CASEing the Catty Challenge!

15966033_10154847240867158_8455909772087240422_n

 

12 thoughts on “Swirly Snowflakes”

  1. Wow, this is such a beautiful Christmas card Barbara! Such pretty colours and I love how your layer of satin ribbon and touch of vellum add an extra elegance too. Thanks for sharing with us at Just Add Ink this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment